Twitter and My Follower Barack Obama

twitter

Yesterday I signed up for twitter, you can in fact see my ‘ tweets’ at the bottom of the left-hand column of the blog page. I did this just for fun I only know one other person who is on twitter, I had and in reality and still have no idea what it’s all about, it was simply a bit of slack time used up with no expectations at all.  So I spent some time trying to figure out how it worked, how you let people know you were at the cutting edge of twitter and trying to discover who there was whose short texts might be worth a look. So of course we had a quick search for Barack Obama and we found him so we click the button and now I’m Barack Obama follower. Big deal.  Then something very strange happened within a few minutes Barack Obama started to follow me, was in fact the first one to do so.  Now I know that you know that President Obama did not see my tweak and think jeez, Norrie, and there’s a really interesting guy who’s incredibly insightful comments will make a difference to my life, I had best make sure I miss nothing he has to say.  No some piece of software kicked in and added him to my followers list.  But that one small event gave me an insight into why Obama’s campaign went supersonic, it makes not one jot of difference to him whether or not I follow him on twitter, however the fact that the people driving his campaign took the trouble to acknowledge my existence and continue to do so after the election had an impact far greater than the effort involved. I am a 52-year-old grandfather and freely admit to being very cynical about politicians as a breed.  I don’t expect to be cheered up or made to feel like I count and I certainly don’t expect any political machine to give me a double espresso emotional jolt simply by putting together some clever software.  I have to admit, that one simple action cheered me up no end.

Everyone likes to be happy, so of course I went looking for more politicians who wanted to join my band of followers.  Gordon Brown has an unofficial twitter which basically links to the government/Labour Party site, he has chosen not to follow me.  David Cameron had an unofficial site which is has now apparently been, after a very polite request, put to bed, so he will not be following me. Alex Salmond doesn’t even have an unofficial site but somebody is having great fun at the SNP’s expense pretending to be Alex Salmond.  I think he’s following me.  It’s all above board.

All this following is making me sound like Charles Manson, hope it doesn’t go to my head.

3 Responses

  1. I also set up a Twitter account around 6 weeks ago on UK Politics, though like you, I know very little about it. However, I now have some 64 people following me, or willing to follow my ramblings…go figure! Not up to Mr Obama’s standards, but I am, as they say, on my way.

  2. Weird seems like viral marketing is here. Whats your twitter name and I will become an ardent follower.

  3. Always willing to welcome ardent followers and of course, I will be happy to reciprocate.
    http://twitter.com/britishpolitics

Leave a Reply

